Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

Can I just say it physically pains me to write “behavior” instead of behaviour because that’s how it’s spelt in Australia! My laptop is basically yelling at me to spell it correctly! But I digress…

highly

Solomon Reed is an agoraphobic Star Trek nerd who’s honestly loveable in every way. Solomon (Sol) hasn’t left the house in 3 years due to having extreme anxiety and panic disorder, triggered by the outside world.

Lisa is a highly ambitious and selfish young woman who has her eyes set on the prize (a scholarship into a highly coveted Psychology degree). Lisa believes the way to do this is to “fix” Sol; despite the fact that having a mental illness doesn’t make you broken (but hey… it’s clear from the beginning that Lisa is an asshole). Lisa befriends Sol through a series of borderline stalker advances and brings her unwilling but loyal boyfriend along for the ride.

This book was actually fantastic, I found it to be very much character driven which I love. All the characters experience a lot of growth for the better throughout the book in a way that I personally found to be realistic. I do not have experience with agoraphobia so I cannot comment on the accuracy of this aspect of the story. I do have a experience with anxiety and I feel it was depicted really well. Sol is such a beautiful character and so is Clark (Lisa’s boyfriend). Lisa is average but she does redeem herself in the end. It was a little fast paced for me – I would have liked a bit more detail and I found the ending a bit anticlimactic and that’s why the book loses a star! 4/5.

β€œWe’re just floating in space trying to figure out what it means to be human.”

A x

Leave a Reply

