Book Dedications – A Love Story

Today, I have chosen to share some of my favourite book dedications, found in books I own. I have always loved book dedications, from the simple to the sentimental; and don’t forget the downright hilarious. I hope you enjoy these as much as I did!

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

“for Pop, who sees the stars

and Jude, who hears their music”

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

I love the simplicity and beauty of this dedication.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset“For all the men and women who served in Vietnam; the ones who came back, those who didn’t and those who are still finding their way home.

This novel is also dedicated to the many mothers, fathers, wives, husbands, partners, sisters, brothers, daughters, sons and friends… who, with love, wait.”

The Happiness Jar by Samantha Tidy

This dedication is so touching to not just those who died in the Vietnam War, but all those affected by it.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

“To those who refuse to be blinded by the glare or deafened by the hush, who are brave enough to question, and curious enough to explore. To those who will not forget. You will make a difference. And to the rest of us, so that we may learn how.”

The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon

I think this dedication is especially touching if you’ve read the book which is a story based on the asylum seekers detained in Australia. (You can read my review of The Bone SparrowΒ here)

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

“To all the girls who have faced injustice and been silenced.

Together we will be heard.”

I Am Malala: The Story of the Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai and Christina Lamb

I think this dedication will ring true to many women in many different ways, and I hope one day we WILL be heard.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

“To the girl
who reads by flashlight
who sees dragons in the clouds
who feels most alive in worlds that never were
who knows magic is real
who dreams

This is for you.”

Hunted by Meagan Spooner

So I haven’t even read this book yet but oh, how I love this dedication – I was and always will be this girl.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

“The dedication of thisΒ book is split seven ways: to Neil, to Jessica, to David, to Kenzie, to Di, to Anne, and to you, if you have stuck with Harry until the very end.”

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. RowlingΒ 

No dedication list would be completed without this wonderful dedication by my queen, J.K. Rowling. I love the significance of it, although it breaks my heart a little…

Please, let me know if you enjoyed these dedications! Also let me know if you have any favourites.

A x

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Dedications – A Love Story

Leave a Reply

