We All Begin As Strangers by Harriet Cummings

Hi Everyone! Firstly, I just want to apologise for the lack of the posts in the last month. In between being sick and working, I’ve just been so busy and uninspired. But I’m back and ready to continue posting.

we all beginI received this book as an eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thanks so much to NetGalley and Hachette Australia for sending it my way!

3.5/5. We All Begin As Strangers is based in 1980’s England. In the small village of Heathcote, a mysterious person dubbed “The Fox” begins breaking into people’s houses extremely stealthily and doesn’t really do much but lurk, spray perfume and leave the scent of dirt wherever they go. Until, one day, one of the townspeople go missing… assumedly taken by “The Fox” (or foxface as I like to call them).

Now, this story was honestly gripping. I really enjoy Harriet Cummings style of writing and the multiple perspectives the story is told in. We get to see 5 different townspeople’s point of views as the story unravels and we learn the village isn’t all it seems. Basically, they all have secrets that are pretty intense and in one case DISTURBING. This village was so annoying and I would not want to live there… everyone knows everyone else’s business and are so nosey…
I felt like the story had a very authentic vibe!

There’s one thing I’d like to talk about which is the reason my rating has been lowered. This story is based on true events. A person really did stalk a village and was dubbed “The Fox”. However, in the true stories case, The Fox also sexually assaulted multiple people. Now I totally understand and respect basing a story off true life events… but the author shouldn’t have called the character of this book The Fox. I feel by doing so it really belittles the pain of the victims of Malcolm Fairley (the real fox). I don’t think it’s right to profit from what others have suffered.

A x

Leave a Reply

