One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

I’d like to say a big thank you to NetGalley and Penguin Random House for providing me with this eARC in exchange for an honest review.

one of us is lyingDetention is where this story begins. 5 seemingly different students find themselves in detention, but only 4 students will leave the room alive. Pitched as ‘The Breakfast Club’ meets ‘Pretty Little Liars’, this book was super intriguing from the beginning, and kept me interested the whole way through. It’s got all your exciting aspects of a Whodunnit, mixed with teen angst, romance, and gossip!

Characters:Β The story is told through the eyes of our 4 main characters: Bronwyn (the brain), Addy (the beauty), Nate (the criminal) and Cooper (the athlete). Now, at the beginning I thought these characters were all a bit stereotypical and tropey. However, if you read the book you will see they have so much growth and change as you get to know them. To me, none of them were stereotypical by the end and I loved all of them so much!

Plot: IΒ found the plot completely riveting. It’s fast paced, descriptive and exciting. Now, I will be honest and say I guessed the ending from about 1/4 of the way through the book, but as I told my friend Romie, I’m just that good!eQ20E

This fabulous book gets a 4/5 stars from me!

A x

Leave a Reply

