The Upside Of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

The Upside of Unrequited is the second novel written by Becky Albertalli, and the second novel of hers to win my heart. I will preface this by saying, I adored Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda so much and it will be forever be my #1 #simonandblueforever.

the upsideThe Upside of Unrequited follows our protagonist Molly Peskin-Suso. Some facts about Molly: she’s a twin to Cassie, she has anxiety, she’s fat and she’s had 26 crushes in her 17 years of life. Out of these 26 crushes, she’s had zero relationships, zero kisses… zero anything really! And to Molly, this is a pretty big deal. Where her sister Cassie is super confident in her ability to get a date, Molly is self-conscious and unsure of herself. That’s until she decides it’s time to let go of her inhibitions, and that’s when the book gets pretty fun!

I saw myself a lot in Molly. We’re both awkward AF and have anxiety. Heck, we even take the same anti-depressants. I loved the characterisation of Molly because tbh she wasn’t 100% loveable. Her lack of confidence was a bit annoying, but also very realistic. She bases er identity a lot on the fact she’s a twin, and seems to use Cassie as a crutch. As you can imagine, when Cassie get’s a girlfriend, this is a bit of a blow to Molly’s identity.

I loved the diversity in this book. We have 2 Jewish characters, a fat girl (who thankfully isn’t described as being “curvy in all the right ways” – my pet peeve), 2 mums (one who identifies as bisexual), a pansexual character who is also Korean-American and another bisexual character to name just a few. And the diversity does not feel forced! Unlike with Sarah J Maas books lol. You can honestly see that Becky Albertalli understands and appreciates the diverse world in which we live – bless you Becky.

To me, this book wasn’t as good as Simon Vs. That book was just the gold standard for me so what can you do. This book is still fabulous though. And I don’t want to give anything away but yes, there is a wee bit of a Simon Vs crossover and it gave me life. I give this book a 4/5.

I’d love to hear your thoughts if you’ve read this book!

A x

Leave a Reply

