The Liebster Award

Wow, thank you so much to my talented, intelligent and amazing bi-furious unicorn Romie @ romiewedeservelove for nominating me for the Liebster award. Everyone, please check her out. Her blog posts are so insightful.

What is the Liebster Award?

“Liebster” is a German word meaning beloved, dearest, sweetheart, or darling.

For bloggers, the Liebster Award is an online recognition given by other bloggers to new bloggers for enjoying or appreciating their work. It highlights up and coming blogs.

Once nominated, a blogger is asked to answer 11 questions provided by the nominating blogger.  They are then expected to nominate 11 other favorite new bloggers and come up with a list of 11 new questions for those nominees.

The Rules:
  1. Acknowledge the blog who nominated you and display the award.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you. 
  3. Nominate 11 blogs.
  4. Notify those blogs of the nomination. 
  5. Give them 11 questions to answer.

Here are the questions the lovely Romie has asked and I shall be answering:

1 – Let’s start with something simple : what’s your absolute favourite movie?

This may seem weird but my favourite film is the fantastic 1993 masterpiece that is Hocus Pocus – y’all have no idea how much I love it and I’m a little ashamed (not really) to say I’ve seen it well over 100 times and can literally quote the whole movie. Bette Midler is my queen as Winifred and it’s not hilarious that I used to identify with the kids of the film and now I have totally turned into one of the witches bahaha.

hocus pocus
2 – Is there an author you absolutely love their writing style, but dislike the books?

Hmmm the only person I can think of is John Green, because I find his books very easy and chill to read… however I the what he writes about and find him to be a creep who’s obsessed with the manic pixie dream girl and teenagers with mental illness and I just can’t be on board with that.

3 – Who is your absolute favourite book character?

Hermione Granger – my icon, my queen, my hopes and dreams. She is amazing, strong, powerful and Harry would be fucked without her. Bless you Hermione.

4 – Because I’m curious, pineapples on pizza, yes or no? 

I’m SO down for pineapple on pizza and while we’re on the topic, I am so sick of people who judge others pizza choices. You don’t like pineapple on your pizza, no worries – we’ll order a pizza each and both be happy. #stopjudgingotherspizzachoices2017

5 – One thing you’d like to do before the end of 2017.

I’d really like to read the first Game of Thrones book – sorry this is so uninspiring.

6 – What is something you’re passionate about?

I’m passionate about women’s rights, especially in relation to reproductive health and choices. I am fiercely pro-choice. I’m also passionate about equality and inclusiveness, I will always use your correct pro-nouns and acknowledge my place of privilege as a white cis woman.

7 – If you discover that your favourite book is problematic, what do you do?

I will educate myself as to why, and it won’t be my favourite book anymore most likely as I could never have a favourite that’s problematic. I may still enjoy it as a trash read but would not promote it and would actively make a point of acknowledging what’s wrong with it.

8 – One thing you just can’t live without, and why.

My husband. He loves me despite my many flaws, encourages me to do my best in all areas of life and supports me in all my decisions. I would be a very different person without him.

9 – If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be? 

Maybe Canada or New Zealand? Somewhere with snow for sure. I do love Australia because we are treated very well in the Nursing profession so that’s something I definitely would consider and therefore could never live in America or England while being a nurse.

10 – Do you use bookmarks, or do you dog-ear your books? -judgment free zone-

I use bookmarks because that’s my preference, but don’t worry, I don’t judge others who dog-ear – just please don’t do it my books if I’ve lent them to you!

11 – Because some self love is important, give me 5 things you like about yourself 🙂

– I love my hair
– I love my humour
– I love that I completed my degree in Nursing and am actually a nurse – I never thought it would actually happen!
– I love that I’m pretty good at taking bookstagram photos (at least I like the photos I take!)
– I love my knowledge about serial killers that both scares and wows people!

I nominate:
Julia – Bright Bold and Bookish
Amanda – A Bookish Invasion
Taryn – Novel Paradise Blog
Julia – The Little Friend
Jen – Glen Jen Reads
Kyla – Seelie Pages
Brooklyn – Brooklyn the Bookworm
Brylie – Brylie and Books
Casey – Constellation of Books
Alice – Map to Mercury
Cassie – Leaf Lit Blog

My questions:

  1. What book has taught you the most throughout your life?
  2. What is your favourite beverage?
  3. If you were stranded on a desert island – what is the one book you’d choose to have with you?
  4. What hyped-up book did you really not like?
  5. Just because I have to know – dogs or cats?
  6. What is your favourite song in the world and why?
  7. What book to movie adaptation do you loath?
  8. What is your favourite quote?
  9. You have unlimited money for 24 hours, what do you do with it?
  10. What is an interesting fact people might not know about you?
  11. I’m stealing Romie’s because it was just too good – tell me 5 things you love about yourself 💖

Liebster.png

Thank you so much for reading this post. I would absolutely love it if you would check out everyone I’ve tagged in this post because they’re fantastic people.

A x

4 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I’ve never seen Hocus Pocus but it’s on Netflix so I will check it out soon!
    omg John Green . . . I am just so done with his books.
    YES FOR HERMIONE! She taught me it was okay to be a bookworm and proud of it 🙂
    YES! I love pineapple on pizzas as well, it makes it a bit more sugary and it’s soooooo good!
    Well, even though it’s a huge book, A Game of Thrones was just such a quick read and so well done! I loved every second of it!
    Women’s rights is a good thing to be passionate about tbh, everybody should be!
    This is such a perfect answer and I liked you called it ‘trash read’ I’m laughing so much ^^
    You and your husband are so cute together! Relationship goals there!
    Don’t come in France then, nurses are treated like shit, it’s just disrespectful!
    YOU’RE SO TALENTED AT TAKING BOOKSTAGRAM PICTURES I SWEAR!
    Thank you so much for answering my questions love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Romie, I insist you watch Hocus Pocus! It’s so 90’s and so amazing!! Thank you so much for appreciating my answers, I hope you learnt a bit more about me 😊 And thank you once again for the nomination ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

