Strange The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

 

the dream

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What can I say about this book that hasn’t been said before. It is mesmerising, beautiful and so unbelievably heartbreaking.

Lazlo Strange, junior librarian and fairytale lover from the city of Zosma dreams of a different place; a different life. He dreams of Weep,Β the unseen city. A place of greatness, magic, gods and monsters. Lazlo is awkward, quiet, and always has his head in a book (hello self!)… and above all, he’s a dreamer. He is ‘Strange the Dreamer‘. When an opportunity arises to go to the city of Weep, Lazlo jumps at the chance. He comes to find that the stories he’s heard, aren’t all they seem.

Okay everyone, the way Laini Taylor writes is actually magic… I don’t understand how she strings sentences together that are so incredible. It’s a 530 page book, but it just goes so quickly! The characters are all unique and agh, just SOO good. Lazlo is the cutest little cinnamon roll who I want to hug forever and make him a big mug of hot chocolate and just talk to. He’s so imaginative and glorious. Now there are going to be some spoilers from now on, yee have been warned!

*SPOILERS*

Sarai and the “godspawn” in general are just so interesting and I LOVED them. In fact, I loved the whole idea of the gods in this world. Like I said, LAINI TAYLOR IS JUST AMAZING. The world building ya’ll, the world building!! And that ending… FUCK YOU MINYA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Minya is such an evil little girl and would honestly give Umbridge a run for her money.

Seriously though, it’s hard for a blogger like me to write a review on a book like this. I feel that I don’t have the linguistic skill to explain this novel, but I will tell you that I thought the book was flawless (including that cover) and I give it 5/5.

A x

5 thoughts on “Strange The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

  1. First of all, I LOVE your tattoo!
    I’m about halfway through Strange the Dreamer and I can already see what all the type was about! Taylor’s writing is brilliant! Her descriptions of Weep and all the characters are so vivid and evocative.
    Great review btw, I look forward to more of your posts in the future… Happy Reading! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you so much for you comment Delphine and your lovely compliment of my tattoo ❀ Sorry, I've taken so long to reply. I assume you've finished Strange The Dreamer now, would love to heard what you thought πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

